Trojan Barbie with Cutting Ball!

25 Nov

In a week I head to San Francisco, where my play Trojan Barbie has a week’s rehearsal/ experiment concluding in 2 staged readings. It’s for Cutting Ball’s Risk Is This festival, which also features Marcus Gardley’s beautiful play, and jesus moonwalks the mississippi. Mei Ann Teo, who hails from the Southern hemisphere like me (she’s Singaporean, I’m Australian) will direct. I couldn’t be more excited to work with Cutting Ball, whose experimental approach and stage aesthetic I’ve long admired. (Cutting Ball A.D. Rob Melrose’s adaptation/ direction of the Scottish play remains one of the theatre highlights of my last few years’ viewing.) I like the fact that Cutting Ball bring in designers as well to dream up the “what if” of the play and think in space, rather than only progressing in a workmanlike manner towards that strange and unsatisfying hybrid–the staged reading–a life form that sits weirdly between theatre and market testing.

One Response to “Trojan Barbie with Cutting Ball!”

  1. Marisela November 26, 2007 at 11:43 pm #

    Christine! I’m going to be in Austin from the 4-9th…am I going t miss you? Hopefully we’ll be able to catch each other.

    Let me know.

    xoxo,
    Marisela

Leave a Reply

