Sea-change

9 Aug

On Monday we have call-backs for Perishable’s casting of Weightless. I’m excited to be heading into rehearsals again soon with the wonderful Vanessa Gilbert, who’ll be directing (she’s Perishable’s AD). There is so much going on right now—last bits of editing and formatting before filing my dissertation; Weightless coming up; my sweetheart just moved in with me (we weave our way through boxes that no-one’s had time to unpack) and next week I’m going to London for a workshop at the Young Vic on Slow Falling Bird. Then I start my new job. I feel kind of dazed, in the middle of many gear-changes.

It’s very strange that in times of change, I miss the past. Lost loves, lost country, far-away friends… the past seems to rise up like groundwater as the future hurtles in. It’s a feeling of walking in more than one world, everything is extra-vivid but also a little bit ghostly. Life takes on the feeling of a dream, things cluster associatively and make shining chains back to other times and people and places.

3 Responses to “Sea-change”

  1. Enrique August 10, 2007 at 3:44 am #

    You had auditions without me? Damn.

    I wanted to be the tranny.

  2. xtine3 August 11, 2007 at 12:51 am #

    Life is cruel and unfair!! Maybe you can be our Tranny Consultant? That would be a cool program credit…

  3. Enrique August 12, 2007 at 5:34 am #

    Tranny Consultant?! I feel like that is fully necessary. Actually, I want to be involved in whatever way I can. I’ve loved this play from the first moment I read it.

Leave a Reply

